July 29 2013

(Drum roll please…..)

So we just got transfer calls….I’ve been in Iksan for 2 transfers now, my companion has been here for 5. We were expecting me to go senior and him to be leaving. But that’s not at ALL what happened. Do you have any guesses? Here it is…

I’m going to Cheonan and being the Assistant Zone leader there, and Elder Orr is going to Suncheon…that means Iksan is being
whitewashed….and Elder Orr is going to whitewash HIS area as well. We are now in the process of getting everything prepared for the next elders. It’s in Okay position, but we need to call our investigators and let them know about everything, then make sure our area books are in good condition, and contact bishop and the ward mission leader and just a BUNCH of stuff! Anyway, this week has been a week of miracles. It’s just too bad I won’t see the fruit of it all. Darn. But I can see that the Lord prepares His people and His areas. These things literally came out of nowhere. Last week, we (as a result of all your wonderful prayers…) found 2 families!!! That’s right, 2!!!!! Both of them are wonderful people that have an interest in the gospel and have good morals and suprisingly have known the missionaries for a long time. I will continue to pray for them, they’re wonderful! Then, out of the blue, we received a referall from the mission office, but we haven’t been able to contact her yet, but still a referall! We were able to meet with Edward, the canadian, before he left to Canada for a few weeks. He is SO amazing, his sincere desire to know the truth is outstanding and I hope I’ll be able to see him again…we also met with all our other investigators this week, which is a miracle in and of itself. So, this week was truly outstanding. One I will always remember. We’ve worked hard here, it’s been tough, but it has been truly prepared. I hope to hear in the future how everything turns out.

Anyway, it’s getting hot here in Korea. I heard it’s really hot over there in America. Here, we have Cicadas…..I call them the choirs of hell. ALL the time, EVERYWHERE, and SUPER loud. It’s nuts. I can take the blistering heat or the humid that you can see, but the
cicadas….oh the cidadas.

On a different note, Mom, here in Korea and as a missionary, it’s really hard to get your veggies. So I was wondering if you can send me some quick or easy recipes I can do for dinner. But there’s a catch, fruits, butter, cheese, milk products in general(except for milk), meat and some vegetables are WAY expensive. So, here’s a list of NON-expensive vegetables:

Onions, garlic, zucchini, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, green onions, cabbage, lettuce(only from street “vendors”[grandmas]) and cucumbers. Everything else, including bell peppers, are pretty expensive for missionaries. Fruit in general is expensive, except if you can get a sale on Kiwis or bananas or grapes. I was also wondering if you could send me these recipes:

Baking powder biscuits, hash, a basic soup recipe, rice pudding, and a muffin recipe or a cookie recipe. That would be Amazing!! Anyway, thank you so much! I gotta go. I love you all so much!! We’ll see how Cheonan is like!! Talk to you next week!

Love,

Elder Smith

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

